I recently started reading Art Power by Boris Groys and this morning on my way to work I came across this passage that I thought was interesting….

“The contemporary mass media has emerged as by far the largest and most powerful machine for producing images – vastly more extensive and effective than our contemporary art system. We are constantly fed images of war, terrror, and catastrophes af all kinds, at a level of production with which the artists with his artisan skills cannot compete. ”

I wonder then why am I trying… and the answer is that while the mass media can produce the images they cannot create the experience. It is the artists role to create and translate the experience of these images. To provoke higher thinking on what they are, mean, and say about the world today.

