While cheesy it is true that I have a love for choreography. During yesterday’s rehearsal at Dance Theater Workshop Maria, Tara and I were recapping the sections we have worked on – patience, broken 3, trio, collision, aggressive sweeping section – and I could see the piece beginning to come together. We tried a sequence: broken 3 > collision > broken 3 > patience > trio, and a smile crept across my face as I watched the dancers navigate the transitions and the movement layer on top of itself. Those “ah ha” moments when things begin to coalesce are (for lack of a better word) magical. We have a heck of a long way to go, and timing the duration of each section will be tedious, but to know that the gut is there, that the movement is heading in the right direction is wonderful.

