mvworks leaves this Thursday to fly out to Indianapolis to teach a segment of No Where on Anderson University dance students. Alli, Maria, Tara and I have all pulled out the notebooks, Crewdson photos, and math charts and are ready to bring three new women into the dance. In reviving the work and molding it for a shared program we have found a new freedom in working with the material. We are thinking about drastically changing the spacial arrangement of the dancers, and have already increased the speed of the overall sequence. This Wednesday we will finish up the changes and make sure everything works with the abbreviated sound design and then we’re off.

I must admit I’m surprised how much I’ve enjoyed digging up No Where, and that in doing so No Where has influenced …within us. for the better.  The simple linear character progression of No Where made me re-think the structure of …within us. and this past week the dancers and I really focused on the progression of the new work and have made an additional set of changes that make the work much clearer and more effective. When the ladies and I return from Indy we will be ready to add on to the middle and then it’s time for our first OPEN REHEARSAL. So here is a quick reminder:

…within us.
Open Rehearsal
Thursday, February 26th
6:30 – 8:00pm
Dance Theater Workshop
219 West 19th Street [directions]

Please remember to RSVP so I know how many people to expect.
RSVP to megan@mvworks.org

